Be careful what you wish for because you will get it.

Back in late 1997 my ex-wife and I decided to get separated. We had two small children and I moved out of our house. That was my first big mistake. To say the least I was very distraught about what was going on and did a lot of drinking and engaged in some very stupid behaviors trying to dampen the pain that I was feeling at the time. The next year after about 15 months we got a divorce. I remember that for years before our relationship went sour, I would think that I wanted a divorce, that I did not like who I was married to. Well you know the old saying ” Be careful what you wish for”. I missed my kids a lot, our first Christmas was eating top ramen noodles together, just the three of us. They did not seem to mind and now that I look back I am very grateful for all of the wonderful things that I have. The memories of both the good and bad over the last 12 years.

If all of the pain that I went through back then never happened I would never have met the wonderful woman I call my wife now. I learned a very valuable lesson with the ex-wife…Be very careful what you wish for, because you will get it.

2 thoughts on “Be careful what you wish for because you will get it.

  1. There are those things we must go through in order to reach the next stage. Many of these situations are painful, and one wonders why they are necessary at all. I have often wondered if I could have got by with less pain and learned the same.
    The answer, it seems, is an emphatic NO. However much it hurt (and it has, a lot) I needed the full experience in order to know.

  2. You can be beaten down by hard times or come out on the other side with more experience and awareness of the power that you have gained by the hurt. It has been many years now since my divorce. My kids are all grown up now, well as grown up as a couple of young adults can be. Everyone gets to experience as long as they live. I believe that The Buddha said, “Life is pain”. After studying some of his words and the context and time in which they were said, I believe that he had a keen understanding of the human condition. Thank you for your reply, you inspired me to start this blog.

Leave a Reply

