Conquering the need to do.

One of the things in my life that I have been working on is trying not to do so much. To slow down and enjoy my life. I have a nearly 100 mile commute to work and home everyday. That does not leave me a lot of time to get stuff done at home or enjoy my hobbies.

The idea of doing less has been rolling around in my head for a long time, but I have not done anything about it. I just kept taking on more and more things with less time to do them. This resulted in not only me being tired and burnt out but I hurt my shoulder yet again in martial arts practice with my instructor.

Resting from that injury has given me some ideas to ponder.

1.I am not as young as I once was. I have to rethink my whole approach to practice and exercise.
2.I don’t always have to do things to please others.
3.As I do get older I am caring less what other people think. (Not that, that was a big problem for me in the first place)
4.I can let things be done by other people and stop being the hero.
5.I have to relax for my own mental health.
6.My body and mind needed a rest.

I trained in my home gym for 18 months straight without hardly an extra day off to rest. Combine this with trying to take care of our home, my monster commute and trying to maintain friendships with the couple of people I do consider friends, burn out was going to happen and it did.

I started to have anxiety and depression problems and had to stop and take a long hard look at how I was doing things. At first I found it hard to relax, I felt the need to workout, deal with the house or handle a problem that was plaguing my wife or myself.

During this time of resting I have discovered that I can do less and feel better without the whole world coming down on me. It is ok to rest, to contemplate, to reflect to just be.

Leave a Reply

