Hoarding

My wife and I have been watching the show ‘Hoarders’ on Netflix. The mental illness and denial that people are capable of is nothing short of amazing. Every episode seems worse than the last. You ask yourself over and over, how can people live like that. Then you come to realize that they don’t even know they have a problem.

People have lost their homes, children, jobs and marriages yet the stuff seems more important than all of that. Simply the people that hoard things are mentally ill. There is no other thought process that I can see that even comes close to describing what we have watched and the process of cleaning up the messes that we have seen.

I can tell you one thing for sure, it makes me want to clean any clutter that we have in our home that much more. I can see that hoarding is a slow death. A death of being swallowed by your own purchases, garbage or whatever because you can’t seem to throw it away. Sad, very, very sad.

One thought on “Hoarding

  1. I really like the show Hoarders; it’s so interesting to see the lives of a hoarder, and I agree that it makes me want to clean and throw stuff away. Just the other day I was thinking about the things I would take if I moved far, far away, and no THING is really very important to me.

    I distinctly remember watching an episode of Hoarders where the lady had a large size bottle of liquid dish soap that had barely any left, like not even enough to soap up a sponge. The person leading the declutter wanted her to throw it away, and she was in tears fighting for it. There’s frugal, but that is just unnecessary. I’m happy I don’t have to personally experience anyone with that kind of thinking.

Leave a Reply

