Sobriety

Yesterday was the second anniversary of my journey into sobriety. Alcohol is and has been a curse on my genetic family tree. Some in my family have found a way to leave it behind and others of us are still in it’s grip. For me staying completely away from it has been nothing but a blessing.

For those who have a family history of alcohol problems, I have empathy for you. Alcohol is a drug that some people can handle and others not so well. I am in the latter category,  If you can drink and deal with it and it does not ruin your life or health, then more power to you. Be happy with your life. It is not for me. I am happier, healthier and more adjusted as a human being without it.

I only wish that  I could have come to the place where I could have quit earlier. I guess I was just wasn’t ready until I was ready. My relationship with my wife, friends and children have done nothing but improve and for that I am grateful. My relationship with myself has taken a lot of time to stabilize without the numbing effects of alcohol to interfere. It has not been easy but it has been worth the time and pain that I needed to go through in order to become a better person.

To those still in the grip of this drug I send out this orison to you. May you find peace, happiness and health in your life without the poison of alcohol. You are stronger than the substance if you will only believe in yourself and have the courage to be who you are.

Stay in the moment, the now, for that is all that exists. Work through your personal pain because numbing it does nothing but put if off. Deal with it now, find your own path in this life. Life the life you came here to live. Do it today for we never know just how long we might have in this world. You came here sober, leave it the same way.

Be well.

JP.

Leave a Reply

