They did the best they could

My parents like probably everyone else’s are human. It is easy to forget that. Children expect so much from them. We always have to have the “right” answer or money or say or do the “right” things. When we don’t there is anger or plain hurt feelings.

It seems that way anyway. Most generations probably feel similar feelings toward those that came before.

I used to hold grudges when it came to my parents, they were not there enough, did not pay enough attention to me, or help me with homework when I was a kid etc.

I had to learn a lot on my own. It gave me a strength that I would not have had otherwise so I can thank them for that.

Now that I am a parent of adult children, I have come to realize over the years that my dear parents did the best they could with what they had.

Times were different back then in the 60’s through the early 80’s. I grew up in a small town without any of the worries that kids have now. I feel blessed that I was raised there instead of the city where I reside now.

My parents have really come through for me later in life and I have a growing and loving relationship with both of them now. I wish nothing but the best for them as they get on in years. I wish that I could see them more.

They did the best they could with what they had to work with and who they were at the time. They are no longer the people that I remember growing up, we all change. Yes we do, even your parents. If you are still angry at them and you are well into your adulthood, you may have some work to do on your heart.

I know that I did and still do. But I can honestly say that I do love my parents. Maybe someday my children will forgive my ex-wife and me for any pain that we caused them as they were growing up.

Thanks Mom and Dad! Call them today just to say that you love them and are thinking of them, it will make their day.

Be well.

JP

6 thoughts on “They did the best they could

  1. I love my parents as well, and I know they also did the best they could when I was growing up. But when they shut themselves off from me and make accusations that are not only wrong but hurtful…well, that’s where I have to draw the line. I will not give even a simple nod of encouragement to that kind of behavior. Doing so will only perpetuate the same.

    1. Just so you know…that post was not aimed at you. It was me expressing my feelings toward my own Mom and Pop. In fact I was not even thinking about what you had posted on your site about your Dad.

      1. Yep, and five minutes after I typed my comment I was thinking the same thing. I’m just sayin’, ya know? I just babble on about the one I know the most about….me.

  2. Thank you again for this beautiful and touching post about your parents. It is a rare child who is not hurt in childhood. But looking toward a bright future and letting go of the hurts helps if a person is ready…I know…:) All we can even wish for another person is peace, love, and happiness..

    Blessings

Leave a Reply

