Books

I have been thinking a lot about the future of literature. The last industry to try to halt the advance of technology was the music labels. They have been drawn kicking and screaming and suing into the twenty-first century. The publishing industry has been a bit smarter. They have embraced e-books. They make plenty of money and have less over head with electronic copies of books.

With the proliferation of the iPad, Kindle, Nook and many other e-readers, e-books are becoming more popular by the day. Not to mention my favorite, reading books on my iPhone. Don’t get me wrong, I like old fashion paper books but I like the newer versions much better. You can make copies, there is no clutter and you can carry as many as you want in one device.

There are thousands of free e-books with interesting authors online. My wife has an impressive collection, I really don’t know how many but it is a lot.

The point here is that some of the oldest art forms are changing shape and morphing into what can only be an interesting future. A future where things like paper books will still be around, just not as many and I suspect cherished more than they are today. I am embracing the new paradigm as I have for the last 12 years. I am always trying to learn more and be on the cutting edge of what is interesting. I also honor the old as well. I was born in the last century and remember a world without personal computers, cellphones, video games, cable television etc, etc.

Let’s move forward, for we can not move back, but do it in a way that honor’s our favorite art forms in a new shape, the shape of things to come.

JP.

2 thoughts on “Books

  1. I definitely agree with you. I have yet to jump on the e-book train because I go through phases of liking to read and then hating it. I’m not ready for the $100ish charge of starting to read e-books. I do however love my iPod but I still buy the CDs of those artists I love or from concerts I go too. I take the old with the new for a happy medium 😀

  2. There is something magical about books. A lot of us take for granted that we can read and books are available.

Leave a Reply

