Getting older does not mean much

My mom has been visiting us for a few days and I have realized that the elevator no longer goes to the top of her building. It is sad to see the decline that more than anything else inactivity has brought on. It is not age but the lack of movement and mental activity that has helped this along. This will be her last trip I would guess.

This kind of thing reminds me to move and use my brain on a daily basis. I do not take for granted that if you don’t use it you will lose it. My poor mom, what a waste this is. My life will not be the same. In my book age does not equal decline, ever! My wife and I will be good hosts but it is strange to watch this very slow train wreck. This may be her last visit. I am not sure that her mind can handle the travel and commotion anymore.

Mt. Saint Helens this week. I hope that she enjoys it.

JP

Leave a Reply

