Father’s Day

Abert Rim as seen from the Warner Mountains above Lakeview, Oregon credits Google Maps

 

About an hour ago I talked to my Dad and wished him and happy Father’s Day. It was nice to talk to my Dad without all of the bad memories that have gone before. We have had a troubled past him and I. But the last 18 years have been better. There is no reason to go and try to retrieve water that has passed under the bridge like some half forgotten memory of hurt and pain.

I hope that someday my children will look back and remember the good times that we have had and let go of their hurts. I know that I have not been the perfect parent or son. I have tried to do right by those in my family. I have not always been successful but I have tried. That effort will pay off.

To my friends, family and all who might read this. If you are a father then I wish you a good day! If not call your Dad and tell him that you love him.

Be well.

 

JP

Leave a Reply

