A student

I have been thinking that I really need to find a student. For those of you who don’t know me, I have been a martial artist for a very long time. It has been a lifelong quest for me and I received my 1st degree black belt in 2009.

I have been postponing the whole notion of finding and teaching someone. I am not sure why though; I guess that I have been using the excuse of my monster commute (91 miles per day) as rationalization that I don’t have time. This morning I was thinking that someone out there needs me to teach them. I in turn want to impart to someone what I know, not only to improve that person(s) ability to protect themselves and their loved ones but to improve my own understanding of the martial arts.

I have had several of my seniors in the arts tell me that I am good at what I do but would be even better if I taught what I know. The premise for this statement I believe is this; I will learn the material on a deeper level by teaching it to someone else. That is a good point to be sure. Now how to find that student…

Craigslist might be a way; I have not put enough thought into this at all. The wheels need to turn here; I would like to have at least 2 private students. I will have to start asking around to see if I can find if someone who might be interested or knows someone who is.

Now that I think of it, I like the idea of developing a program and progression from the ground up. This would be a good challenge to save me from thinking negatively and provide a constructive channel for both myself and the student(s) that are now coming my way.

More to come on this…

Be well,

JP

2 thoughts on “A student

  1. Jim,
    I am glad you are feeling the way you are and I encourage you to do this and under your own banner. You understand how I feel about individuality and you deserve credit where credit is due.
    I would also be proud to have you promote under our AMS-NW banner as you know you have full authority to do just that.
    Contacts, contacts, contacts, everywhere. Hand pick your folks as the returns are huge.
    Sifu, I am proud of you!
    Guro Ken

Leave a Reply

