Longevity

You know the old saying, “you’re not spring chicken anymore”. I always that thought that sentiment was bullshit frankly. Yes we age, but does it mean aging equals decline? It is my view that it does not. People seem to think that it is normal for the human body to decline as it ages. Again I call bullshit on this.

I am currently conducting a life time personal experiment with the Paleolithic lifestyle that is working. I am leaning out, I rest better and my overall performance and outlook is improving. I will admit that there are some changes to be made if you follow the “paleo” path. The small minded would say that they are “sacrifices” but if you look at it in the context of improving your health and healing your body and mind, then it is just a good idea whose time has come.

Our bodies were not designed to be stressed continuously, eat foods that spike our blood sugar and insulin levels and be over exercised to try to make up for our poor choices in rest, recreation and lifestyle.

What I have learned so far on my journey and what is playing out in my own healing process is this… By keeping my insulin spikes low, my weight is normalizing without any extra effort. By keeping my rest (and I am still working on this) consistent I am preforming better at everything I do. By keeping my protein and fat intake up, I eat less overall and can go longer in between meals because my body is using fat for fuel instead of carbohydrates from what I call garbage food like…bread.

I am not preaching here, this is a choice that I am making in my life. Like so many choices there are costs and benefits, so far any downsides of this path are outweighed by the benefits that I have previously described. I have set a personal goal to live to be at least 120 years (the theoretical limit of the human body) or longer.

There are people alive today that are 120 or better now, living their lives, being healthy, happy and wise. I am going to be one of them. There is much work to be done, I have tons more to learn about stress management, sleep, exercise and just being a happier and healthier person in general but that will come in time and with assiduous attention to details.

Thanks for reading,

JP

2 thoughts on “Longevity

  1. I’m interested in the stories of people who live to be 100 or more years old—stories of people who have, for the most part, lived “wrongly.” I just read a story about a lady who lived to be 107—a lady who had smoked for 95 of those 107 years.

    I don’t smoke, but I’m sure if I did I’d be a cemetarian within a decade.

    Three cheers for good genes.

    1. Genes are only part of the picture. Using food to manipulate hormones which in turn, turns genes on or off is key here. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

