The most under appreciated job in the world

What is the most under appreciated job in the world? I will tell you what it is. It is being a step-parent. Being a parent is hard but at least you have history, blood ties and a bond that you don’t have with step children. I know that some of you may have had a good experience being a step-parent and I envy you.

It is not all bad but is one of the hardest things that I put myself through. I am aware that I took on the role willingly and with my eyes wide open. Being the “other” ostracized person who will always be an outsider is just plain hateful sometimes especially when you have tried your hardest to make things comfortable for your step kids and to be rejected and ignored…it sucks.

I can only hope that someday my step-kids come to understand that I do care about them and I tried to do my best to make the best of a not so nice situation. It is hard when parents split up and find new partners for children to adjust to another persons temperament and way of doing things. I recognize that it was hard for you too. If I was not always the best step dad I am sorry but I did try to be there for you and I am still trying.

Time will heal over old wounds as it always does. People change and our lives move in different directions, and as they do keep in mind that both your mother and I care about you and wish you the best. We have nothing but the utmost respect for all of you.

 

JP

Leave a comment