My two cents

There has been much said over the last few days about the school shooting. I am not going to add more to it but to say that I pray for the families of those who lost their precious children.

Now, on to my point. People are sheep in this country. Something done by one person who is disturbed has so many having a completely insane knee jerk reaction. Ban Guns!

Why do people blame the tool and not the person? Why are people so convinced that giving up yet another freedom is going to make them safe? Why are you living in fear?

The news media is fanning the flames of discontent like they always do, turning the real issue (mental illness and societal problems etc) on its ear and blaming the easiest target they can. The Tool used to commit the crime.

The sheep that walk the streets of this country, watching American Idol every week want to feel safe. I don’t blame them, I want to feel safe; who doesn’t?

The difference between them and me and people that think like me is simply this, I am willing to take responsibility for my own safety. I do know that the police and government can not and will not be able to take care of me or my family when someone in a mall, school or the workplace decides that they are going to pull out a weapon and start killing others.

WAKE UP! You are responsible for not only your and your families safety but others around you that can not defend themselves, such as children and the elderly. I have already made up my mind long ago what I will do if confronted by this reality.

I will fight, I will defend, I will run towards the violence and do my level best to stop it, even if that means that I die to protect others. You and only you are responsible for your personal safety. Not the media, police or anyone else. You.

Stop blaming the tools used be it a bomb, gun or plane and be a person who rather give their life in service to others than lie down and die, or worse, beg a corrupt system to “save” you by taking away just a little bit more of your freedom.

I hope that I have reached someone even if it was one person who stops to think that being a sheepdog is better than being a sheep.

Live well!

JP.

2 thoughts on “My two cents

  1. Banning guns is not the answer, as you say. It hasn’t worked in other places and it won’t work here. Tim McVeigh killed plenty of children in Oklahoma City, and his weapons were fertilizer and diesel fuel, not guns.

    I’ve forgotten where I read it, but there was some Rep. from Texas who said that if the Conn. school principal had been packing, she could have taken Lanza’s head off before he had a chance to get off a single shot.

    Works for me.

    1. DC5

      The whole idea of personal responsibility seems to be lost on most people. This is not the country that we grew up in and I fear that my granddaughter is going to be raised in a world of media manipulation, where everything that is shown to people is believed. It is bad now, imagine what it is going to be like in another 10-15 years!

      They don’t teach critical thinking skills in school anymore, if they did then I suspect that tragedies like the one we are talking about would rarely if ever happen.

      The public is asleep and waking it up is going to be very hard on many who refuse to see the way things are trending.

      JP

Leave a Reply

