A death in the family

There are periods in everyone’s life that requires a little self-reflection. A death of a close friend or family member is one of those times. My brother passed away very recently and I find that I am going through the normal stages of grief and emotions that go with such an event.

Remembering the person who is now missing is important to those left behind.  A hole is left in your psyche that needs time to heal, to scab over and finally to rebuild with a scar to remind us of what has been lost. Each death diminishes all of us in some way, even if it is not felt by anyone but you.

The rolodex of memories that I have for my brother is full of good, bad and otherwise but I am fairly sure that isn’t abnormal. The good includes the time my brother rescued me as a small child from a flock of angry Canada geese. The bad includes the time my brother almost shot out one of my eyes with a homemade bow and arrow. So many memories to sort out, so many times that my brother and I fought or ignored each other…

If you have a brother or sister tell them you love them today. Do it now, for we know not how much time we have left on this Earth. Don’t take anyone in your life for granted, love each minute that you can have with your siblings, family and friends.

Love my dear readers is the only thing that really matters. Love transcends death and suffering, love transcends loss, love bridges lifetime to lifetime. Love is the glue that holds human relationships together. Love is the most powerful force in the Universe.

JP

5 thoughts on “A death in the family

  1. I am sorry to hear about your loss. I lost my best friend too recently and thus, can connect with the essence of what you have written here. I also, kept postponing meeting him, till one day, he was gone.. 😦

    1. I am sorry for your loss. There is nothing worse than regret when we can do nothing to change the things we “should” or “could” have done.

Leave a Reply

